On entering The House and leaving behind the bustle of city life the history of this venerable institution, home to the General Lighthouse Authority, is almost palpable.
The House’s beautiful Reception Hall with its elegantly sweeping, twin-curved staircase houses remarkable maritime artefacts that bear testament to the prominent role played by Trinity House in the nation’s maritime history.
This history began in 1514 when HenryVIII granted the charitable guild of mariners a Royal Charter to regulate the water traffic on the River Thames, their powers later extended by Elizabeth 1 to include the sea-marks around the English coastline.
Since moving to this building 200 years ago Trinity House has welcomed Royalty, Prime Ministers and Lords of the Admiralty, and many senior maritime figures from around the world.
Today, reflecting the on-going patronage of the Crown, the present day Master of the Corporation is HRH The Princess Royal, filling a role held in former centuries by amongst others, the diarist Samuel Pepys, Prime Minister William Pitt, the Duke of Wellington, Prince Albert and the Duke of Edinburgh.